A few months ago, FaceApp was the application that everyone spoke. With it, you could edit your appearance so that you would see yourself when you are old, through an “age” filter.
Many images of users with this filter have been published on social networks like Instagram, Facebook or Twitter, including celebrities such as actors, or influencers. This application has caused great entertainment.
The application is not new, it was launched two years ago for IOS and Android operating systems. However, a few months ago it has become viral by improving the capacity of the filter by which the user can modify his face and modify his image with about 60, 70 and 80 years.
- Provide personalized content and information.
- Online ads or other forms of marketing.
- Provide, improve, test and monitor the effectiveness of the service.
- Develop and test new products and features.
- Monitor metrics such as a total number of visitors, traffic and demographic patterns.
- Diagnose or solve technological problems.
- Automatically update the FaceApp application on the device.
- FaceApp also shares usage data with third parties to improve the ads.
In addition to the advertising value of our data, one of the uses that our face has is the training of facial recognition algorithms. To understand it you just have to look at how they work. The algorithms are based on huge face databases, all of them anonymous but useful for AI to understand how the human face works.
“We can delete pieces of data that can identify you and share anonymous data with other parties. We may also combine your information with other information so that it is no longer associated with you and share that aggregated information.”
FaceApp responds to privacy concerns
Those responsible for FaceApp have released a statement informing about the operation of their application and what happens with the photographs. According to the statements, only one photo is uploaded to the FaceApp servers, which the user selects. And it is kept for 48 hours and then removed. In this way the loading and editing processes are more agile for all users, without the service collapsing by uploading the same photo over and over again. It also informs you of the steps to request that a photo or information be deleted from your servers. Just go to the Settings of the application, look for the Support option and here Report a bug or report a bug. The word “privacy” or privacy in English must be included in the request message in order for them to respond to the request.
FaceApp CEO Yaroslav Goncharov provided the following statement:
1. FaceApp performs most of the photo processing in the cloud. We only upload a photo selected by a user for editing. We never transfer any other images from the phone to the cloud.
2. We might store an uploaded photo in the cloud. The main reason for that is performance and traffic: we want to make sure that the user doesn’t upload the photo repeatedly for every edit operation. Most images are deleted from our servers within 48 hours from the upload date.
3. We accept requests from users for removing all their data from our servers. Our support team is currently overloaded, but these requests have our priority. For the fastest processing, we recommend sending the requests from the FaceApp mobile app using “Settings-> Support-> Report a bug” with the word “privacy” in the subject line. We are working on the better UI for that.
4. All FaceApp features are available without logging in, and you can log in only from the settings screen. As a result, 99% of users don’t log in; therefore, we don’t have access to any data that could identify a person.
5. We don’t sell or share any user data with any third parties.
6. Even though the core R&D team is located in Russia, the user data is not transferred to Russia.